Which could mean Virtual Console is on it’s way…

Sega is releasing a compilation of it’s most desired and treasured games on May 29th. This new compilation will only arrive on Playstation 4 and Xbox one. This somewhat sad news came about on the company’s Twitter page just a few hours ago thanks to all of their fans who pointed this out. According to Polygon, this isn’t the first time Sega has excluded their games from a Nintendo system.

Sega had previously released a compilation of games a few years ago on the PS3 and Xbox 360, called Sonic’s Ultimate Genesis Collection which had 48 different titles on it. The solution to this problem was Nintendo’s Virtual Console. Which means Nintendo was able to charge for the Sega Genesis classics. Now here’s the thing, history tends to repeat itself. Who can argue with that? No one! So I’m going to make a prediction and say Nintendo Switch owners will be getting Virtual Console in the near future.

genesis collection

They’ve done this same exact move with the Wii and ended up putting 73 of Sega’s games on there. A lot of Nintendo fans have been asking for Virtual Console ever since the Switch was released. It’s a little bit more than a year and nothing has been said about it, but I’m also going to guess this will be tied into their paid online service that’s going to debut in September. I feel like Nintendo’s online service is going to be similar to Sony & Microsoft.

You’d pay for the service, and you’d also pay for the games and keep them as long as you keep your membership. It’s another way for Nintendo to make some strong sales once again, and it’s also something fans will without a shadow of a doubt pay for. I’m going to go ahead and predict Nintendo will announce all of this in the upcoming E3 conference in a few months.

Who wouldn’t want Streets Of Rage 1,2, & 3 on their Switch? Check out the full list of games below that are in the new compilation coming out May 29, 218.

  • Alex Kidd in the Enchanted Castle
  • Alien Soldier
  • Alien Storm
  • Altered Beast
  • Beyond Oasis
  • Bio-Hazard Battle
  • Bonanza Bros.
  • Columns
  • Columns III: Revenge of Columns
  • Comix Zone
  • Crack Down
  • Decap Attack
  • Dr. Robotnik’s Mean Bean Machine
  • Dynamite Headdy
  • ESWAT: City Under Siege
  • Fatal Labyrinth
  • Flicky
  • Gain Ground
  • Galaxy Force II
  • Golden Axe
  • Golden Axe II
  • Golden Axe III
  • Gunstar Heroes
  • Kid Chameleon
  • Landstalker
  • Light Crusader
  • Phantasy Star II
  • Phantasy Star III: Generations of Doom
  • Phantasy Star IV: The End of the Millenium
  • Ristar
  • Shadow Dancer: The Secret of Shinobi
  • Shining Force
  • Shining Force II
  • Shining in the Darkness
  • Shinobi III: Return of the Ninja Master
  • Sonic 3D Blast
  • Sonic Spinball
  • Sonic the Hedgehog
  • Sonic the Hedgehog 2
  • Space Harrier II
  • Streets of Rage
  • Streets of Rage 2
  • Streets of Rage 3
  • Super Thunder Blade
  • Sword of Vermilion
  • The Revenge of Shinobi
  • ToeJam & Earl in Panic on Funkotron
  • ToeJam& Earl
  • Vectorman
  • VectorMan 2
  • Virtua Fighter 2
  • Wonder Boy III: Monster Lair
  • Wonder Boy in Monster World

How do you guys feel about Nintendo being excluded from this release? Do you think Nintendo will announce Virtual Console at E3? Do you feel it’s going to be tied into their paid service the way Sony & Microsoft operates their online service? Comment below and let me know what you think!

4 thoughts on “Nintendo Switch Won’t Get Sega’s Precious Gems In Up-coming Release”

  1. Idk why I thought Nintendo owned sega but I wanna get it mostly for sonic but more importantly toe jam and fucking earl that was my favorite sega game

    1. You know the funny thing is I never got a chance to play Toe Jam & Earl. This new compilation is supposed to have some multiplayer functions online, so it might actually be pretty good

Leave a Reply